Venice city - information, curiosity about - Venice Italy

Go to content

Venice city - information, curiosity about

City guide

Venice city

The city of Venice is located in the Venetian lagoon and is divided into two quite distinct parts,  the island part (the historical and monumental Venice) and the mainland part with the city of Mestre.
Mestre is a city of recent construction, without tourist attractions, but is home to many hotels given its proximity to Venice.
The island historical part is divided into six districts called sestrieri (from their number) called Dorsoduro, Santa Croce, San Polo, San Marco, Cannaregio and Castello.
The city is divided in half by the Grand Canal that runs through it, forming a double bend, from which radiate a dense network of canals crossed by a large amount of bridges (more than 400).
The Grand Canal is the main waterway, over which pass many boats, including ferries used for passenger transport.
The core of Venice was built on 118 islands in the lagoon, and the foundations of the houses have been consolidated with the use of thousands of wooden posts driven into the ground.
So Venice has always been isolated, until 1846 when it was completed  the railway bridge, then joined in 1933 from the car bridge, Bridge of Liberty called.
A special mention must be made to the name used in the urban field. In Venicecity  there are no streets, squares, rivers, but each part has been assigned its own specific name.
Streets are "calli", "fondamenta",  "rive", "salizada", "ruga", "sottoportego"
Squares can become, "fields" or "campielli" or "corti"
Rivers are "rii" or "canali".
Characteristic of the city of Venice
is that the names of the streets are painted on the walls and are called "nizioleti"
To divide the main part of the historic city of Venice from the Giudecca island, we find the channel of the same name, the one called The Giudecca Canal.
On this channel, which gives access to the harbor, passing the large cruise ships towed by tugs.
In addition to the island of Giudecca, Venice neighboring islands are inhabited including Murano, famous for the production of artistic glass, Burano with colorful houses, famous for the production of lace, Torcello, St. Erasmus, Pellestrina, and Lido, long strip of sand that closes the lagoon from the sea.

Venice city - districts

     1- Cannaregio
    A - Canal Grande
     2- Santa Croce    B - Canale della Giudecca
     3- Dorsoduro

     4- San Polo

     5- San Marco

     6- Castello

Venice city calli,campielli,...
Venice city  "nizioleti"
Venice city , nizioleti
Copyright 2012-2018 by Lori P.
Back to content